Wake Up Thinner

ate the kitchenI’ve only been hanging on by a thread lately, I have tried to keep reading the blogs as they are helpful, and now I am here to write.

Last week I got to a new low of 157.5, however, I am back up again.  With that said, it was my annual Candy Poker party this past weekend, and I cheated a lot, and had very many lots of beers, the good news about that though is, it isn’t two weeks later that I am here, I am back now, and working on getting back into the swing of things.  Normally, I would take a 2 week hiatus from weight loss, because you know, Easter is coming, so what’s the point in dieting for only a few days, and then I would eat a lot at Easter and go another two weeks of binging, and then be on here kind of mid-Aprilish and repent then…Of course till another party comes up.  My point is, I am here now, and I’m ready to start again now!

candy poker

This is the candy bags for the candy poker party, this one was the 9th annual, and I had 18 poker players at 3 tables, it was very successful!  The buy in is $5.00, and you get a bag of candy to play poker with, each candy has a worth, like the rockets are .05, the caramels are .10 and the tootsies are worth .25, there are also loonies and toonies (1 dollar coin and 2 dollar coin for my US friends!)

So, I have been doing some research on binge eating disorders, and I was looking to see if there were any tips online, but I only came up with a bunch of expensive options and therapy that I can’t afford.  After some more searching, I came across this program:  http://yourfatlossanswer.com/  can anyone let me know what they think of this, or if you have heard of it?  I can’t find any reviews.  It seems to be different than a regular diet, but I wanted to see if there was any input on it.

She did have 2 free tips for interrupting food cravings and I am anxious to try them to see if they actually work:

  1.  The Eye Movement Trick – when you have cravings for food, you can interrupt the craving by rapidly moving your eyes in all directions until the craving stops
  2. Conscious Breathing – when you are craving foods, simply breath.  Take a four-second nasal inhale followed by an eight-second exhale through puckered lips.  Do this about 3-4 times and the craving should be gone.

I am going to start with these two tricks tomorrow – or if I have a craving tonight, and I am going to see if that helps. I will keep you all posted!  🙂

 

never fail

10 thoughts on “Wake Up Thinner

  1. OK . . . There really is NOTHING out there on this ‘program’. When I clicked on the link, the first thing that screamed at me was “Start Now for only $5 and Pay The Remaining $27, in 2 weeks, after you ahve already seen results and lost at least 7 pounds!”

    I literally just copied and pasted what is between the quotes. Were I you, I would NOT trust the site. There are no reviews. None. What Google did find, leads back to their site.

    What kinds of things are you looking for? Is there anything I may be able to help with?

    You and I both know there is no quick fix nor a magic pill. 😦 We have to work. We have to work physically (at least three times per week). We have to work mentally. This means digging deep.

    We CAN do this! YOU CAN DO THIS! This is our year!

    “A few ‘bad’ days can’t ruin a weight loss plan…only giving up can do that. Just keep going and you’ll get there.”

    “Believe you can and you’re halfway there.”

    And my favorite:

    “Don’t start your day with the broken pieces of yesterday. Every day is a fresh start. Each day is a new beginning. Every morning we wake up is the first day of our new life.”

    ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know, I know! What I was researching this time was more for binge eating disorder, and this program is all about changing the way you think, it goes on about how naturally thin women think differently than over weight women, and that you have to change your mind set. I’m going to keep on doing what I’m doing – but I can’t help myself from looking!!

      You are absolutely 100% correct, this is our year and we’re going to do this and we’re going to do this right, I needed that kick in the butt.

      This won’t be the last time I post something about a “Magic Pill” but I’m glad I have you to push me back into reality!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We are on this journey TOGETHER! I really would LOVE to find that “Magic Pill” because I would buy it in a heart beat! 🙂 I think we always will look for one, though. It is in our nature! 😉

        Was there any particular binge eating disorder or just binge eating disorders in general?

        ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just binge eating disorder, I apparently do that…Do you ever feel you have to eat everything now? I do this a lot, I don’t know why, I just feel like I have to eat everything or I will miss it…also I very rarely get full, I’m either starving or feeling sick cause I ate too much, I don’t know when I’m actually full before I feel sick, or even if I am satisfied. I’m going to try those tips, especially the breathing, I’m not so keen on the eye movement thing, but if I can breathe it out and stop myself from the binge – that would be a good start.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. OMG, YES! It’s why I wear elastic-waist pants! I definitely feel like that on Saturdays when the hubby and I go out.

        What about drinking at least 8 oz of water when you are feeling hungry? You know, drink a glass. Wait about 10 or so minutes to see if it takes the edge off.

        When you say you very rarely get full, do you mean you do not get full or do you mean you do not have the sensation of being full? If you do not have the sensation, maybe you have an imbalance somewhere and talking to your doctor could help.

        I have been trying to drink water a lot more before the food is actually brought to the table when the hubby and I go out. (I failed miserably this past Saturday. 😦 )

        Every day is a work in progress for us. 🙂

        ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I agree! Definite work in progress! I have talked to my doctor in the past, but yes, it’s as if I don’t feel full, like I could keep on eating, but I eat fast too, it’s hard to slow down, I have to get back on my water, they say that sometimes you feel hungry but you are just thirsty and to try water first, but sometimes I’m bad at that too… Man, so much to think about, are you 100% certain about that “magic pill”? I think that is the main thing, I have to actually think about what I am doing and putting in my mouth. I have to learn that I’m not missing anything, and that staying on track will give me what I want, and binge eating will destroy me. I have to listen to me and learn when I am full, and if I don’t find it then, I’ll need to speak with my doctor some more. Thanks so much for the input – if is really appreciated! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yes. I am sure about that ‘magic pill’! Can you imagine how rich that person would be?! Mind boggling, I tell you!

        I am so glad I do not keep a lot of junk food in my house! I would be so screwed if I did! I would eat it until it is gone. I am still working on my ‘in moderation’ and ‘portion control’ issues.

        When I want a late night snack, I’ve been eating an apple . . . with a tablespoon of peanut butter on each half. For me, it takes care of the wanting/craving something sweet and crunchy. It’s mostly healthy. 🙂 My other Go-To snacks are red peppers with hummus. 🙂 When I was working 1st Shift, I had it every single day. The guys at work were always teasing me about it. Heaven help me if I didn’t have any one day! You would have thought the world had ended or something with the way they carried on! LOL

        Like I said earlier, we are on this journey TOGETHER! WE CAN DO THIS!!!!

        ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That person would be rich! The other thought I have is that, if it were easy and affordable, everyone would be thin.

    I don’t usually have a lot of bad snacks in the house, I can normally keep myself from eating the kids snacks, and we always have veggies and fruit, however, what happens to me when I binge may not entirely be bad food, just way too much food. For example yesterday – I figured I was starving so I started out with a banana, then I went to yogurt, then I had a granola bar, I then decided to get into the last of the chocolate covered pretzels…then there was dinner, we had rice with taquitos – I took chicken out of the freezer late last week and when I went to cook it – it had gone a little off so I tossed it, then I had a pickle and ice cream and then I had a handful of tootsie rolls leftover from candy poker… Not all of it was bad, I just couldn’t stop myself from doing it. Today I am going to start with making a conscious effort to think about what I am eating before the binging starts, I am going to drink more water, and I am going to start learning to listen to me. Thanks for your help! This is exactly the support I need! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hey there! I have struggled with binge eating for a long time and now I’m reading the book “Breaking Free from Emotional Eating” by Gennen Roth, and it’s very, very good. It has made me change a lot and I believe she really knows the way out of this disorder. Perhaps it would help you too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is awesome, thank you! I’ll see if I can find it while I’m out this weekend, I just feel like I’m way out of control these days. Hopefully this will help to get me back on track! Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

