Blog Challenge – Day 10

Describe Your Most Embarrassing Moment

My most embarrassing moment happened in Grade 6, though really, I wasn’t embarrassed then, it wasn’t until years later that I was embarrassed about it.

So, my best-friend at the time and I were sitting next to each other on the first day of grade 6, and our teacher, Mr. Adams, says that our first assignment is for us to write about what we did this summer, and first, he will tell us what he did.

He tells us this story of his camping in trip in Algonquin Park, and my friend whispers to me, isn’t that where you went?  And I said no, I went to Algonquin Park – however, the way I said Algonquin was with more of a Hungarian accent.  I had gone camping to Algonquin with my mother and father and my Uncle, my mother and Uncle had a thick Hungarian accent and my dad’s thick Japanese accent just copies the way they talk.  So when they say Algonquin, it comes out more like Elle-gun-quin, instead of Al-gone-quin.  This story is better told than written, so I hope that you are getting the idea.

Anyway, it wasn’t until I was in high school, that someone was talking about Algonquin Park again, and I actually saw it written, and realised that it was the same park that I camped at in Grade 6.

It still bugs me late at night because I was never able to tell my friend that I was wrong, also my friend kind of became my enemy and then I lost contact after I moved.

Leave a Reply

