Terrified….

I have completely stuck to my 1200 calories, however, I am only down .5 of a pound:

My Starting Weight:  175

Weight for Last Blog: 163

Today’s Weight:  162.5

Weight Loss Since Last Blog: .5

Total Weight Loss:  12.5

I know, it is a struggle, and I am trying to stay positive.

Tomorrow is my father’s 80th birthday.  There will be 10 or so of us going out to dinner to a Japanese all you can eat restaurant, and I am terrified….

The reason that I am terrified is that I did some research, and Japanese food is really high in calories, I don’t understand why most of them are so thin….I figure the fat part of me came from my Hungarian heritage.

For example:

Teriyaki Salmon – 1/2 a fillet is 233 calories

1 large shrimp tempura is 81 calories

1 large sweet potato tempura is 129 calories

and sushi rolls are about 200-375 for 6 depending on what kind

sushi 2  Sushi

I am so afraid that I won’t have enough to eat and that I will basically blow all my daily calories on dinner, which means that I’m not going to have breakfast or lunch in fear of eating too much at dinner.  When I added up the things I would like to have it came out to 1008 calories, which leaves me with 192 calories for the rest of my day.

I was really good at Mandarin, all you can eat Chinese buffet, and I have gone out to eat a couple of times, but was totally able to order something and stay within my calorie budget, but going for Japanese is really stressing me out.  Not to mention that, there is no nutritional information on the website for where I am going, and you seen the information that I did find, this doesn’t include all the things that they have or what might be ordered, and well, see I’m stressing out.

I have one more issue on top of the dinner…lunch…I specifically said that we should meet at 1:00 so that I could avoid having lunch with them, but then one of them said, oh great, we can meet for lunch, and well, I told them that I won’t be eating, and that already sucks, but I’ll now be sitting with the food…we are meeting at a friends place, they have just recently had a baby, so we are visiting the baby.

So, my game plan is to work out in the morning, and hopefully, I will give myself a calorie buffer so to speak, I am planning on having a light breakfast and a light lunch, and then dinner…well, I am going to try to do the best I can with the research that I have, and go from there, I am determined to stay under 1200 calories.

I know how selfish I sound, this is my dad’s birthday, and a big one on top of it, and I love him, and it should be about him and my family and not the food, I get that, but, I have food issues.  I don’t think like normal people, whenever I am invited out, I wonder what type of food will be there first, and I have tried to focus on the people, not the food, but it is so hard.  It is a mindset change, and I don’t know how to do that.

What do you do?  Any tips for me?

6 thoughts on “Terrified….

  1. First: Congratulations on the 1/2 pound! It is a WIN! All the little Wins eventually add up to BIG Wins! Keep up the awesome work!

    Second: I would look to see what would be a healthier compromise (I LOVE Google! Google is very close to being my Bestie. LOL). What about calling ahead to see if they have healthier options? What about trying new options? Drink a glass of water in between everything. Eat half and bring the rest home. This way you can make two meals out of it.

    Third: You have every right to be selfish! You are on a journey to make a healthier you. No one can do that for you. This means you have to be selfish.

    You CAN do this! You have worked too hard to get where you are! Even if you slip, do not let it derail you. Pick yourself up and get right back on track. No one ever said this journey was going to be easy. It will be worth all the blood, sweat and tears you put in.

    YOU ARE WORTH IT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your words of encouragement, I appreciate it. Typically in an all you can eat Japanese restaurant you order a bunch of small dishes and share them with the table, you are then charged for any leftover pieces and typically there is no take home. I am going to order the more healthy choices, however there will be stuff on the table that I might want to try, or in some cases being forced to try, and my will power isn’t great. I am going to drink a large container of water before, and keep drinking tea or water in between, that is a good idea, thanks for that. 2016 is all about me and making me happy. I’m just terrified I will fail tonight. Those were all amazing tips, I am going to call the restaurant today to see if they have some nutritional information available as well as what some healthy choices are. Thank you again!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good luck today! I KNOW you can do it.

        Here is a quote by Dr A.P.J Abdul Kalam of Feel Life:
        *If you fail, never give up because F.A.I.L. means ‘First Attempt in Learning.’
        *End is not the end, in fact E.N.D. means ‘Effort Never Dies.’
        *If you get No as an answer, remember N.O. means ‘Next Opportunity.’
        So let’s be positive!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is awesome, I really can’t tell you how I did tonight, I’m just not weighing myself for a few days to start….I did drink a lot of tea and ate lots of protein so hopefully it was the right thing to do! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment